I met the sun on the corner of Uhuru Highway.. He told me he was warming up for the day

I met the sun where the valley meets the road.. He told me he was doing his morning rounds

I met the sun when the birds had begun to sing.. The birds were singing because of him

I met the sun again when he was on his lunch break, and he told me the city had never looked so good.. With all the light and clear blue skies, the city had never looked so good

I met the sun again when he was going home and I asked him to stay a little while longer.. I asked him to talk a little while longer

And I asked him why he likes to shine so much.. Why he shines everyday

And he told me it’s what he likes to do, it’s what he’s good at.. It’s what he was called to do

So we talked until everyone else had gone home.. And then I asked him about the days he does not shine, I asked him why he does not shine

And for just but a second, I saw tears form in his eyes.. And then he told me that he always shines, even when we don’t see him he always shines

And I cried then and my tears quickly went away.. I finally understood that his purpose was bigger than himself, I finally understood that his purpose was divine

